How To Reset A Netgear Router (Factory Default Settings)

How To Reset A Netgear Router
Courtesy Thomas Au (modified)

Well, I guess you are here because you need to reset your Netgear router.

Don’t worry, it’s an easy process, that only takes a few moments complete.

Why Reset Your Netgear Router?

There are several reasons to reset your router:

1) The Router Has ‘Locked Up’
This generally means there is no blinking light activity or you can’t log into the router…perhaps you can’t connect to the Internet either.

2) The Power Light Stays Amber
This indicates an issue when the router starts up. It should only stay amber for around 20 seconds or so. The power light should then turn green. If this doesn’t happen, say after a minute or so, we recommend powering off the router, and then on again. If no luck, then resetting the router.

3) LEDs Don’t Turn On
If you power on your Netgear and the lights don’t turn on after a few seconds, then once again power cycle, and then reset if that’s unsuccessful.

4) You Want To Sell Or Return Your Netgear Router
Perhaps you want to sell your router on Ebay, or maybe you have to return it to your ISP (in this case you likely have a router/modem combo).

Well, you don’t want to have your credentials stored on the router. Whether it be a password that you use, or details of your ISP. It’s always best to delete all your configuration. Resetting your Netgear router to default is the best way to do this!

Before you reset your router

If you need to log into the router, but have never made any config changes, the default credentials may work.

Want to configure your router? Download out free guide all about setting up your wireless router here.

Try these first before resetting the router. Of course, if there is another issue with your Netgear router as previously mentioned, that requires a factory reset, then ignore us!

The vast majority of Netgear routers use these credentials by default:

Username: admin
Password: password

REALLY old routers use these credentials (we doubt your router is this old, but you never know!):

Username: admin
Password: 1234

How To Reset A Netgear Router With The Reset Button

The easiest way to do this is also the fastest. You do not need to be logged in or cabled into the router to perform this type of reset:

1) Locate the ‘reset’ button on the router. It should be easy to find. It usually isn’t actually a button in the traditional sense, but actually a tiny hole within the casing of the router that is large enough for a pen, or paperclip to fit into.

Within the hole is a small button, that would be pressed by the pen or paperclip.

Where Is The Reset Button On My Netgear Router?

Netgear NightHawk AC1900 (R7000) Reset Button

Netgear NightHawk AC1900 (R7000) Reset Button
Check out more info on the Nighthawk R7000 here


Netgear N450 Reset Button

Netgear N450 Reset Button
Check out more info on the N450 DOCSIS 3.0 modem router here

2) With the router power turned on (make sure it has been powered on for at least 2 minutes), use a very thin object (pen/paperclip, or something similar) and press the reset button. You don’t have to press it hard. In fact only a gentle push is required.

You will feel a click, which indicates that the button has been pressed. Keep the button pressed for about 10 seconds, or until the display lights have all turned off (they may turn on again after a couple of seconds being off) – best practice is around 10 seconds.

3) Let go! The router has now reset. Give it a few moments to fully boot up.

Logging Into Your Netgear Router After Factory Reset (and before!)

Bear in mind that when you reset a Netgear router, or any router for that matter, you will lose all the configuration settings that may have been applied. So make sure that you have your configuration settings backed up or written down somewhere for reference if you want to use them again.

You should now be able to login with the default ‘admin’ ‘password’ credentials we talked about earlier! This works for both Netgear wireless and cables only routers.

However, we recommend logging in via an Ethernet cable – into LAN port 1.

Note that there is also the option to do a full hard reset, also known as the 30-30-30 reset. This is the hard reset of all hard resets! Try this if all else fails!

Post Comment